dema’ot (tears)

Given the gratuitous amount of instability and frustration as of late (or for the last 31 years? Discuss), I am probably very overdue for a good cry. I’m not usually a crier, but today, when I learned that Prop 8 had been overturned, I cried. With joy. In public. There was water and saline in my eyes and then on my cheeks and my vision was blurry, and then it was gone, the public display at least, but not the strange heaviness that comes with knowing that not only is the crying not done, it hasn’t even really started.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “dema’ot (tears)

  1. Jenn says:

    I overheard at work, and I got chills. The guy in the cube next to me was listening to Sean Hannity. I generally despise having to hear about how “the liberal elite” and “Obama” hate this “great and blessed nation,” but I was so grateful just to know. For one glorious moment, I didn’t hear anything. I didn’t work on a retort for Mr. Hannity; I didn’t distract myself with my own music; I didn’t make mental lists of what to do later in the day. I just appreciated the moment. On the drive home I heard the full story on NPR, and my eyes were not dry.

  2. Jean says:

    I love this post.
    And yay for Prop 8 being overturned, about time.

Leave a Reply

