this book is food.

 

il_fullxfull.132340334

Yesterday  I saw a book with a pink binding in the Women’s Studies section  and I picked it up anyway, assuming it was based somehow in irony. I was correct.

The book is called Here Comes the Bride: Women, Weddings, and the Marriage Mystique, by Jaclyn Geller. Look, there are a lot of books about marriage and the wedding industrial complex, and I’ve read a lot of them, but never have I seen my own frustrations and wonderings articulated in them as I do here. It’s pretty thrilling that, among other things, Geller is asking the same question I am with The Marriage Project: Why get married?

This book is not for everyone; it’s an unflinching examination, it collides with socialization in a way that might make you uncomfortable, especially if you just got married or engaged. It might make you apologetic or defensive or just really mad, but if you ask me, those are all reasons why you should read it.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

