re: the Jane Collective


She said-Before 1973 (From “Jane: Documents from Chicago’s Clandestine Abortion Service, 1968-1973”)

“She gulped some water in the kitchen and said,  Oh thank you, you’ll never know what this means to me, thank you so much. I can’t thank you enough, I’m sure. I know some people say it’s wrong, abortion, that you shouldn’t take a life. And maybe you did take a life. But it’s all give and take, isn’t it? My mother always said that everything always comes down to give and take. So the baby, today, that was the taking-and me, me, my own life, I think that was the giving.”

This is from a pamphlet I found last week at Bluestockings,  a  feminist bookstore collective around these parts. Everyone should know the history of the Jane Collective, which was an underground abortion collective in Chicago in the pre Roe v. Wade era.

 

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

