different work

It’s sunny and cold and perfect outside, and I came right to the library basement, where it smells the same as always and  the clock near my table says quarter to nine (It’s 1.30 pm, actually).  As a kid, it took me a long time to understand quarter ofs and quarter pasts, although I got half past right away. It also took me a while to get shoe tying, and rounding numbers and counting syllables. I am useless at determining north from south from east from west unless I’m standing in the middle of Manhattan.

I am crappy at gratitude, so I’m trying to work on that. It seems like a hard thing to do – be grateful and inhabit a space at the same time. (Good luck with that, kid.)

Leave a Reply

