anything, really

On the way to the coffee shop, I saw a pint of very expensive ice cream sitting on someone’s stoop. I know this ice cream. It’s the kind you buy with intentions of eating it immediately and entirely. I bought this kind once, and it was still frozen when I got it home, so I opened my window and set it on the roof to thaw. That’s how important this ice cream is. It’s 40 degrees today, and who knows how long it’s been out there. Maybe someone left it as a gift for the person who lives in that house. Maybe some drunk people were sitting out there last night and they never opened it, and then they went away.

Leave a Reply

